California Mandated Reporting Easy Steps…
WHAT MUST BE REPORTED and HOW TO REPORT
The SLUSD Board Policy 5141.4 establishes the procedures and policies for reporting child abuse. Any employee with reasonable suspicion that child abuse has occurred is a mandated reporter and must report suspected child abuse. The following information provides an overview of the reporting process. For more information, please review SLUSD Board Policy 5141.4.
WHAT MUST BE REPORTED:
- Any of the below acts involving anyone under the age of 18:
- Physical Abuse
- Sexual Abuse
- Emotional Abuse
The mandated reporter must only have reasonable suspicion that a child has been mistreated; no evidence or proof is required to make a report. The case will be further investigated by law enforcement and/or child welfare services.
TWO REQUIRED STEPS FOR MANDATED REPORTERS:
- By Telephone: Immediately, or as soon as possible, report to child welfare services and/or to a police or sheriff’s department.
- In Writing: Within 36 hours, a written report must be sent, faxed, or submitted electronically to the appropriate agency. The written report should be completed on a state form called the 8572, which can be downloaded at: https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/childabuse/ss_8572.pdf?
Safeguards for Mandated Reporters:
- The Child Abuse and Neglect Report Act (CANRA) states that the name of the mandated reorter is strictly confidential, although it is provided to investigative parties working the case.
- Under state law, mandated reporters cannot be held liable in civil or criminal court when reporting as required; however, under federal law mandated reporters only have immunity for reports made in good faith.
Failure to Report:
- Failure to report concerns of child abuse or neglect is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable in California by six months in jail and/or up to a $1,000 fine.
- For the complete law and a list of mandated reporters refer to California Penal Codes 11164-11174.3.