San Leandro USD

Tradition and Innovation

Special Education

Department of Special Education

The purpose of Special Education is to provide a high quality, safe and inclusive educational program that support students with special needs to reach their full academic and behavioral potential in preparation for life and success in college and career through specialized services provided, to the maximum extent possible and appropriate, in the general education learning environment. 

Special Education Strategic Plan

Special Education Program Beliefs

  • Effective general education is the key to improving special education.
  • Collaboration among educators leads to improved student achievement.
  • Each student has the right to a challenging, rewarding and inclusive education.
  • All students can learn and it is our responsibility to ensure that they do.

Colleen Palia
Director of Special Education
Phone: 510-667-6206
cpalia@slusd.us 

Kevin Nazario
Assistant Director of Special Education
All Secondary Programs
Phone: 510-667-6212
knazario@slusd.us 

Doris Kwok
Assistant Director of Special Education
All Elementary Programs
Phone: 510-667-6211
dkwok@slusd.us 

Julie Avilla
Program Specialist
Preschool Programs & High School Resource and Mild-Moderate Programs
Phone: 510-618 4600 ext 2188
javilla@slusd.us

Lyla Belli
Mental Health Program Support Provider
All Mental Health Programs and Non-Public Schools
Phone: 510-618-4400 x 3765 
lbelli@slusd.us

Theresa Gonzalez
Administrative Assistant
510-667-3507
tgonzalez@slusd.us 

Sandra Bueno-Salas
Office Technician
510-667-3534
sbuenosalas@slusd.us

Business Hours:
Monday – Friday
8:00 A.M. – 4:00 P.M.
Phone: 510-667-3507
Fax: 510-297-0508

Location:
2255 Bancroft Ave, San Leandro, CA 94577